Hunger Pains

Tonight I ate dinner kind of late for me—almost 9:00 p.m. by the time I put the first grain of rice in my mouth. And because I’ve gotten into this pattern of not sleeping well on a Sunday night, my Mondays are usually hectic and sleepy. Driving home is the worst. Feeling the heat of the sun through the glass only increases my sleepiness and I nod off at the wheel. It’s amazing I’ve made it back alive each time! (I better not jinx myself now. That wouldn’t be good! :() The thing is, the heat and the sleepiness makes my head hurt, combined with feeling hungry, everything feels like one big mess, tired and confused. Then I try to make a nice home-cooked meal, but the preparation is usually long, thus, I end up eating late.

This is why it’s amazing, though, that as soon as I start filling my belly, the headache starts to subside, I wake up a little bit and suddenly I’m in a better, happier mood. (Turn that frown upside down!) That’s when it hit me. I’ve been trying to figure out for a while now what my “life’s mission,” if you will (what does that phrase exactly mean anyway?), should be. By “life’s mission” I’m talking about what cause outside of my little world (if you really think about it, we all live in tiny worlds) I should dedicate my life to.

Hunger. For some reason that is one I can’t seem to rid of. I like to eat. OK, I lied. I LOVE to eat. I’ve always loved to eat, especially as a teenager. If I’m not eating, I’m thinking about eating. It breaks my heart thinking about those who deal with the hunger pains on a daily basis. Or the kids who go to school fed, but are unfed once they go home for the weekend or when school lets out for the summer. Just look at how I’m one hot mess when I’m eating late! And that’s still knowing that at some point I am going to be eating something.

For starters, I think people need to stop breeding. (That’s probably another issue altogether, but I just had to throw that out there.) But since that’s not happening any time soon, I want to be part of the movement that makes a change in regards to hunger pains.

2 thoughts on “Hunger Pains

  1. There is no worse pain than not having a plate of food in the belly. To never eat to satiation is only human. Your absolutely right on humans not breeding. For those who are residing physical plane of existence may require a way to feed those who are looking for subsistence.

    What do I know…

  2. Pingback: raw | At The Outset

Leave a Reply

