Short

Life is so freaking short, yet we still let fear hold us back. What are we so afraid of? That we’ll die if we tell the person we’re crushing on how we feel about them? Because isn’t that what it all comes down to? Telling that one person how we feel, all the while unsure if they feel the same, opening a whole new can of worms that could be the start of revealing our true selves or a rejection of who we are. In this life we can be completely confident of who we are as people, but as soon as we are subjecting ourselves to judgment for it in front of a person we really care about, our opinions of ourselves can be shattered in a matter of seconds.
It doesn’t matter who you are or where you are in your life, I think we all search for love, even those of us who love money. We all desire that validation that yes, we are good enough and we are compatible enough to spend the rest of our lives with a partner who understands us. But what happens when we never get that validation or let every single opportunity for that validation to be achieved pass us by? I’ll be the first to say that I am almost three decades old, yet because of how I grew up and a part of who I am, I still get scared about going up to my crush and letting him know how I feel. How juvenile, right? But I know who I am and I own it.
We can be afraid of skydiving, we can be afraid of roller coasters and we can be afraid of going to law school. But I really think the underlying fear holding us back is the fear of dying without loving. When you’re looking at your past, there are going to be a lot of things you don’t remember, but I bet you’ll remember your first crush. What you said. How you acted around them. If we go skydiving, we can be afraid of something going wrong and not being able to get the parachute to open or what have you. And if something really does go wrong, we’re thinking these are going to be the last moments I am alive, have I done everything I have wanted to do before I disappear from this world forever? We probably think of our loved ones.
So knowing this, why do we still let fear hold us back? What exactly are we so afraid of? What’s the worst that could happen? If you end up all alone and no one loves you, couldn’t you start over somewhere? And if you’re not loved, don’t you want something to cure the loneliness? If there is at least one other person there with you, over time wouldn’t you learn to love each other even if you were strangers when it all began?
Life is so freaking short. Love is all that matters. So don’t let moments that could turn into something great pass you by.

Leave a Reply

