a love letter to my future someone

I think it’s time for a love letter. I’m wearing a peachy pink sparkly sweater with a heart in the center and that may have something to do with it. I also just watched Natasha Bedingfield’s music video to “Angel.” The song is all about standing up for your man when others are ragging on him and being his angel to protect him from pain and being there for him. I’m really glad this song was made because there are too many songs out there about jerks.

Dear You,
Despite all of the pain and heartache, miscommunications and socially awkward situations I have found myself in the past few years, I know You are out there. I still believe we shall find each other and be together in the end, not like a fairy tale, but together nonetheless. Perfectly compatible in our own way, not perfect.
I used to think to be with You, I have to make myself perfect first. Someone once said that so many girls are looking for the perfect man, but are doing nothing to be the perfect woman. But after trying so hard to please everybody, I have finally realized that being myself is enough. That said, I would like to mention the kinds of things I would like to be or do once I am with You. (And, no, I’m not talking about anything kinky.)
I want to be your personal cheerleader. I want to make you feel good about yourself, like the man that you are. I want you to have a delicious meal ready for you when you come home from work. I want you to be able to rely on me when you’ve had a bad day at work or when you’re going through something rough. I can give you a really good back massage for that, or something else, whatever you want. You let me know. I will be obedient to a certain degree, but I’ve also got to be free to do my own thing. Let’s not fight or yell at each other, but we can act out heated scenes to spice things up every once in a while. Let’s not ever put each other down, but instead listen with love.
Even so, I still desire to be your personal cheerleader and even if you should lose your job or all sense of who you are, I will not leave. You can count on me even more. I want to be there for you if you ever turn into a monster right before my eyes and forgive you and hold you should you need to cry. Because every man needs to cry at some point. You may be a tough cookie, but I know you’re a sensitive guy deep down. That’s nothing to be ashamed of. It’s a part of what makes you a man.
Please teach me about baseball, football, basketball and any other sport you are passionate about because I really want to learn from you. These are things I crave. And if you’re not into sports, that’s OK. I’ll just hope my love of basketball rubs off on you and that will be enough.
Despite all of the confusion in this hearty mess I’ve let myself endure over and over, I want you to know that I want to love you unconditionally.

Love,
The Girl With A Broken Smile

Leave a Reply

