raise your hand if you have this problem

I think I’ve been missing some social cues lately. (That or I’m just a crazy writer. :/ Who knows?) Whenever someone asks me how I’m doing, whether it’s in person or via text or e-mail, I am very tempted to tell them exactly how I’m doing, no filter. Most times, I’ll admit, I’ll do the standard, “I’m good” or “I’m fine.” However, there are times when I just tell people how I’m doing, really.

I know there are times when someone really does want to know the answer to the “how are you?” question. But there are definitely others when they don’t. I guess what I’m trying to say is, sometimes I’m off and I don’t know when they really want to know how I’m doing and when they’re asking out of habit with no real interest in how I’m doing.

I just think “I’m good” and “I’m fine” is so repetitive and boring. That’s all. Can’t blame a girl for trying.

Leave a Reply

