Celebrate Local Authors

It was a lucky and comforting thing to have my friend Shanae there when I gave my first author reading last year. (Yes, I am aware this post is long overdue. Better late than never, right?) On the Saturday of Easter weekend last year, April 19th, I was able to participate in a Celebrate Local Authors event at our local Columbia Public Library. It was basically an all-day event that lasted from 10 in the morning until 4 in the afternoon. The morning session included author panel discussions about everything from writing tips to the whole publishing process through marketing and promotion. Apparently, according to the flyer, we also had refreshments, but I don’t remember because I was taking notes throughout the discussions.

By the way, during lunch I got the chance to meet a fellow writer and try out a vegetarian place downtown for the first time.

We came back just in time for the Open Book Fair. I had a booth with my books and another author took my picture in front of it, but sadly I do not have that picture so alas, you will just have to believe me. (Have a little faith.) Then about halfway through the fair, I was able to give my first author reading upstairs. Shanae showed up right before and was able to calm my nerves a bit. I’m so glad this was a small event because it was a lot less intimidating to read in front of ten-ish people than I’m sure what it would have been if there was a bigger crowd. I am so grateful to have had a friendly face in the audience.

Thank you Shanae for being there for me!

One thought on “Celebrate Local Authors

  1. Pingback: Photographic Evidence | At The Outset

Leave a Reply

