Video
0

first retreat and next video…

Last December I closed out 2014 with a retreat. Not a defeat in that sense of the word, but a silence and solitude retreat with members of the church I was a part of. (It feels so strange to me to use the word “was” because everything’s changed so quickly and this wasn’t that long ago. I was a part of that church for about six years.) In my next video I documented a small portion of my experience, shared with my good friend Leslie and roommate for the weekend of December 5-7, 2014 in Rocheport, MO.

As part of my video experiment, I have been trying to add audio without overriding the original audio. I don’t think I have figured that out yet, but I did manage to add music at the introduction and take it out when the speaking part comes in. In my previous videos I struggled with having music run simultaneously with me talking about a book, but I know other YouTubers have successfully made videos with talking and music at the same time, so I have hope that I will figure it out one day!

This was my very first retreat experience and I had a basic idea of what it was going to be like, but I was not prepared for how changed I was going to be coming out of it. I could probably write a few pages about this, maybe even a novella, but the whole reason why I needed to go on this retreat was a desire to grow closer to God. Well, it was more like, everything else in my life seemed like a mess to me and I needed to do something to fix this mess. Little did I know, I had been struggling to fix relationships with people my way that God was telling me I had forgotten about Him. I had not realized that I had not put any energy into repairing and building my relationship with Christ. And the only way to allow Him to help me was to be still. Spend time alone with Him. Block out the noise. Psalm 46:10 says, “Be still, and know that I am God…” (NIV)

So here it is…here is my journey…

Leave a Reply

