Shamrock Day Memories

c3dee5578769cd0734b00db40bf3721b

https://www.pinterest.com/pin/500744052288513442/

I got a text from a girl friend asking me if I wanted “in” on going out to the bars. There was promise of green beers and other such St. Patrick Day’s things I can’t remember exactly now. I politely declined because it was a weeknight and I had to get up early for work tomorrow. She politely understood.

I don’t remember how long ago that was, but I remember a little of how I felt when I got that text, like it was so predictable she would invite me out. Like it suited her to be going out and it suited me to be staying in. I wasn’t always like that.

We had just finished a tournament and we were trying to find our way back to the van so we could get some fuel for our bodies. Somehow I had injured my foot so we were going kind of slow. All of a sudden we found ourselves in the middle of a parade of people wearing green. At the front of the line was this guy who wanted a light. He saw me and came up to me to ask for one. Being a non-smoker, I had to tell him, “no.” He looked disappointed with my response and the girl next to him didn’t look too thrilled he was talking to me. I was relieved though. That meant he had someone waiting for him, the type of commitment from a guy I was not looking for at the time. Afterwards, my teammate asked me if I knew “that guy.”

I don’t remember what street we were on, but I remember the smoker was wearing a green top hat. I wondered if he was really Irish because he didn’t look it to me. Looks can be deceiving though.

I just sat down and Emma White* said to the class, “How come none of the Asians are wearing green?” Then she glanced over at me in my green sweater and goes, “Good job, YuMin!” I felt good about myself, the way you instantly feel better when someone gives you a high five.

This happened in seventh grade and for some reason, every year on this day I think of it.

*name has been altered to protect identity

3 thoughts on “Shamrock Day Memories

  1. I don’t really do anything for saint Patrick’s day but I love Irish car bombs any day of the year. I don’t think I have ever worn green. When I was a kid if you weren’t wearing green everyone was supposed to pinch you. Is that normal?

      • Well it’s either a heinous tool used by the IRA to affect change or a heinous drink used by college kids to affect drunkenness. You take a pint of whiskey and drop a shot of half Guinness half baileys Irish cream into it and then you chug it. Some people confuse the ratios but that’s how I do it.

Leave a Reply

