Straight Shot Path

Path splits two directions, fork in the road

https://www.maidbrigade.com/blog/choosing-the-right-path-in-life/

If I take the highway to work, I’m always afraid I’ll run into traffic in the form of a car wreck, weather conditions, or road construction. If I take local roads to work, it takes longer to get to work and there’s always a possibility I might run some animal over. Either way there’s an underlying anxiety I will be late for work or hurt a living being and be late at the same time. Thus, most every weekday morning my stomach is in knots. I do this every morning for so long my stomach is used to it. Soy nerviosa doesn’t just describe my Amber Yang character, but describes me as well and is just one of the many characteristics I share with the girl from my first real novel.

The verdict is local roads. I’ve been avoiding the highway because I prefer going at a slower speed. That’s just me. (And if you catch my drift, you’ll know I’m not just talking about driving. But please don’t overanalyze that last statement into something dirty because that’s not what I was referring to either. I’m not that kinda girl.) Plus I’ve already been involved in my first car wreck on the highway last year so I’m not looking for another one. Lately local roads have had a lot of road construction going on and as a result some mornings I’ve had to take a detour unexpectedly. I’m also not that into surprises, but I can roll with them and get used to them pretty much like anything else out of the blue. This got me thinking about the roads life takes us. We may have that ultimate goal we want to reach. There may be one straight shot path to get there, but along that path there are going to be road blocks. These road blocks can be anything from distractions to physical injuries to monsters we invent in our minds that keep telling us we can’t do something to literally having to move away. Yet through all the obstacles, real or imagined, we can still find our way back down that straight shot path. It’s just up to us to find the detour that will get us back on track.

Leave a Reply

